Last Updated on October 13, 2023 by Mack Barnes
In order to obtain a Provisional Sales Associate Real Estate License in the state of Oklahoma, there are several important steps you must undertake. Each step serves to ensure that you are not only qualified, but also adequately prepared to enter the dynamic field of real estate.
To begin, you must meet the following basic requirements:
- Be at least 18 years of age, and
- Provide proof of United States citizenship or verification of qualified alien status.
Following the fulfillment of these prerequisites, the journey to your license involves a systematic process. Here’s a more detailed look at each step:
- Complete a 90-hour Basic Pre-License Course.
This comprehensive course, a mandatory requirement, equips you with essential knowledge about the industry. For convenience, Barnes Real Estate School offers a 90-hour Basic Pre-License course that is fully accessible online, allowing you to learn at your own pace and convenience.
- Submit your real estate license application to the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission (OREC).
After completing the course, you will need to formally apply for your real estate license. This involves completing and submitting the license application to the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission (OREC), the regulatory body for real estate in the state.
- Complete a background check.
Safety and trust are integral to the real estate business, and as such, you must undergo a background check. To do this, you will need to schedule an appointment with IdentoGO, who will process your fingerprints electronically. This process comes with a $60 fee.
- Pass the Oklahoma Salesperson exam.
Once your application is accepted, you must pass the state’s Salesperson Exam. This can be scheduled with PSI. The exam, costing $60, will test the knowledge and skills you have gained through your training. A minimum score of 70% is required for a passing grade.
- Pay your license fee to the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission.
Lastly, after all these steps have been successfully completed, you will need to submit a form requesting the issuance of your active Provisional Sales Associate or Sales Associate License. This form, along with a license fee of $100, should be sent to the OREC.
Basic Pre-License Course
Barnes Real Estate School offers a 90-hour Basic Pre-License course that’s available online.
Real Estate License Application
Applicants will need to complete and submit the real estate license application to the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission.
Schedule an appointment with IdentoGO to process your fingerprints electronically. IdentoGO will collect the $60 fee associated with the background check.
Schedule your exam with PSI. The exam fee is $60, and a score of 70% or better is needed to pass the exam.
Complete and submit the form Request for Issuance of an Active Provisional Sales Associate or Sales Associate License, along with the license fee of $100 to the OREC.
For more detailed instructions on how to receive a real estate license, visit the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission’s website.
Law Update Effective November 1, 2019
Oklahoma Real Estate Provisional Sales Associate License
Real estate licensees start as a provisional sales associate in Oklahoma. Within the first year of licensure as a provisional sales associate, you will need to complete a 45-hour Post-License course. After your first year licensed as a provisional sales associate, completion of the required education and submission of the applicable form and fees to the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission (OREC), the OREC will issue a Sales Associate License. Licensee must be associated with a real estate broker for the license to be active.
- License valid for one-year.
- License fee is $100
- $35 Application Fee
- 45-hour Post-License course required within the one-year license term.
Oklahoma Real Estate Commission Fee Increase Effective November 1, 2020
The Oklahoma Real Estate Commission updated their rules earlier this year, and the changes become effective November 1, 2020. The rule changes include license fee increases across the board. Below is a break-down of the notable fee increases.
- Provisional sales associate license fees increase from $75 to $100.
- Sales associate license fees increase from $165 to $215.
- Broker, corporations, associations, or partnerships license fees increase from $225 to $295.
- Broker associate license fees increase from $195 to $260.
- New Fee – A one-time application processing fee of $35 shall accompany all applications for original licensure.